Posted January 30th 2013 at 1:55 pm by
in citychat, Hospitals as Neighbors

#citychat : More Than an Emergency Room?

Update: The transcript for this chat is now available on Storify.

On Thursday, January 31st at 2:00 p.m. Eastern Time (1:00 p.m. Central, 12:00 p.m. Mountain, 11:00 a.m. Pacific) @MITCoLab will host a Twitter chat on the relationship between hospitals and their surrounding neighborhoods. Follow #citychat to join the conversation.

Ambulance on the Go, ca. 1942

Ambulance on the Go, ca. 1942 by William H. Johnson. Image Credit: Smithsonian American Art Museum on flickr.

During the chat, you’ll have a chance to delve in to these questions:

• Beyond healthcare, do hospitals have a responsibility to their surrounding communities?

• How do anchor institutions in your community, such as hospitals and universities, relate to their neighbors?

• How can anchor institutions best impact your community?

• Do anchor institutions have a responsibility to drive economic growth or job creation?

Chief Administrative Officer for University Hospitals in Cleveland, Steven Standley (@UHhospitals) and MIT City Planning Professor Phil Thompson (@jt71J) will be tweeting live during this chat. The City of Cleveland, Ohio has taken a unique approach by working with its major, non-profit medical system to multiply the benefits of the system’s building projects. They’ll be at the chat to offer what they’ve learned.

This #citychat will launch a week of discussions on the relationship between anchor institutions and their surrounding communities. On Tuesday, February 5th CoLab Radio will publish a series of posts representing multiple viewpoints on this topic. On Friday, February 8th leaders from MIT and Cleveland, Ohio will host a public event, “Leveraging The Power of Anchor Institutions to Build Community Wealth”. This event is open to the public and will be live streamed on February 8th from 2:00 to 4:00 p.m. Eastern time.

Leveraging the Power of Anchor Institutions to Build Community Wealth

It’s easy to join the Twitter chat. Just follow #citychat on Twitter from 2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. Eastern time on Thursday, January 31st. Even if you don’t have a Twitter account, you can watch the conversation unfold here.

Comments are closed.