Posted September 13th 2012 at 9:41 am by
in citychat

#citychat No. 5 : Transforming Public Space

#citychat No. 5 : Transforming Public Space

Steve Woolrich (@SeCureCS) of Rethink Urban at work

On Thursday, September 20th at 2:00 p.m. Eastern Time (1:00 p.m. Central, 12:00 noon Mountain, 11:00 a.m. Pacific) @MITCoLab will host a Twitter chat on how to transform a troubled public space. @MITCoLab will ask @RethinkUrban and @SeCureCS about their three-step process:

1. How to audit a public space
2. Engaging neighbors and users of a public space
3. How to innovate for a better space

We will also ask you for your ideas and experiences with transforming public spaces – an empty lot that’s now a garden, a dangerous corner that’s now a local meeting spot… What else? Do you have any examples of transformed spaces ? How did you go about changing the space?

Participants in this #citychat are invited to share their own ideas for and experiences with public space. Come to this #citychat with examples of public space transformation and questions for the interviewees and your fellow chat participants.

It’s easy to join the Twitter chat. Just follow #citychat on Twitter from 2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. EST on Thursday, September 20th. Even if you don’t have a Twitter account, you can watch the conversation unfold here.

UPDATE: This chat transcript is now available.

Comments are closed.