Posted November 8th 2012 at 10:17 am by
in citychat

#citychat No. 7 : Post-disaster Planning

On Thursday, November 15th at  3:00 p.m. Eastern Time (8:00 p.m. GMT, 9:00 p.m. Central European Time, 12:00 noon Pacific Time) @MITCoLab will host a Twitter chat on urban design and international humanitarian response after a disaster.

This video asks:

How do humanitarian efforts contribute to the long term process of (re)construction?
How can the need for temporary shelter and permanent reconstruction be balanced?
How can neighbourhood-scale interventions fit with the wider city?
Urban Planning is a political process. How can humanitarians legitimately engage with it?

This #citychat will bring the humanitarian community together with architects and urbanists who work in a non-emergency context. @alisonkilling of Killing Architects and her collaborator Kate Crawford will ask you to think about the different ways urban and humanitarian practitioners describe, think about and work in cities. It will also be an opportunity to pose some questions about the legitimacy and significance of international humanitarian organisations relative to local government and community-led reconstruction. There has been sharp scrutiny of humanitarian action in the dense, vital streets of Port-au-Prince, for example. News headlines give some idea of the complexity and controversy that have prompted our project.

Voices from reconstruction in Haiti.

You are invited to share their own ideas for and experiences with post-disaster work at this #citychat. Come to the chat with your experiences, questions, and challenges for the interviewees and your fellow chat participants.

This discussion is part of a research collaboration between Killing Architects in the Netherlands and the Development Planning Unit at University College London. It has involved interviews with practitioners involved in reconstruction and visits to sites built back by government contractors, international organisations and the communities affected by the disaster. The research has been funded by the RIBA with support from CENDEP at Oxford Brookes. It is part of a series of events leading up to a workshop on London on November 30th at CENDEP.

It’s easy to join the Twitter chat. Just follow #citychat on Twitter from 3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. EST on Thursday, November 15th. Even if you don’t have a Twitter account, you can watch the conversation unfold here.

UPDATE: This chat transcript is now available.


Port-au-Prince.

Post and videos by Kate Crawford and Allison Killing.

One Response to “#citychat No. 7 : Post-disaster Planning”

  1. [...] 15th November there will be a #citychat twitter discussion which we are running together with MIT Community Lab.  Everyone is welcome to join the discussion, but even if you don’t have a twitter account, [...]